Year in Review: C40 & Siemens Launch Inaugural City Climate Leadership Awards

This year C40 and Siemens announced a partnership and established the City Climate Leadership Awards, to honor ten cities for excellence in urban sustainability and leadership in taking climate change actions. The inaugural awards ceremony took place in September at the Crystal, Siemens’ Urban Sustainability Center in London.

After announcing the broad collaboration in April, in August Siemens and C40 announced 29 award finalists. Come September we announced the 10 awardees and had a number of related posts:

Daniel Libeskind, International Architect and Designer and member of the independent judging panel for the City Climate Leadership Awards, posted a blog in October to discuss the issue of urban sustainability. And The World Bank’s Stephen Hammer, Lead Urban Specialist — Cities and Climate Change, gave his account of the Awards ceremony.

In November we kicked off “The Crystal Sustainability Series”. Filmed at the Awards event in September, the series chronicles several cities’ stories through interviews with mayors and leading experts.

To date, we have published interviews with former Lord Mayor of Copenhagen Ritt Bjerregaard, CEO of the Climate Group Mark Kenber, Director of San Francisco’s Department of the Environment Melanie Nutter, Chairman of Ho Chi Minh City People’s Committee Le Hoang Quan, European Commissioner for Transport Siim Kallas, Head of Transport in Buenos Aires Guillermo Dietrich, and Governing Mayor of Oslo Stian Berger Røsland.

At year end, we announced Buenos Aires as the winner of the Citizen’s Choice Award, a digital media campaign that asked the public to vote for their favorite project nominated in the 2013 C40 & Siemens City Climate Leadership Awards.

A number of Mayors and chief sustainability officers from award-winning cities have contributed to the blog, including: 

With the success of the Awards event in 2013, stay tuned for more information on the process and plans for 2014.