Inaugural City Climate Leadership Awards Ceremony

September 4, 2013 - February 5, 2014 One Siemens Brothers Way Royal Victoria Docks London E16 1GB

The City Climate Leadership Awards Ceremony and Conference are jointly organized by C40 and Siemens. The City Climate Leadership Awards are granted in 10 categories and provide global recognition for cities that are demonstrating climate action leadership. 

Six award categories are open exclusively to C40 Cities: Urban Transportation; Green Energy; Waste Management, Finance & Economic Development and Sustainable Communities. Four other categories – Adaptation & Resilience; Air Quality; Energy Efficient Built Environment and Intelligent City Infrastructure – are open to C40 Cities as well as cities in the ‘Green City Index’, a Siemens and Economist Intelligence Unit research project.

The inaugural City Climate Leadership Awards Ceremony was held at the Crystal in London on September 4-5, 2013 and featured C40 Chair and New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg, London Mayor Boris Johnson, and CEO of Siemens Infrastructure and Cities Sector Roland Busch.

The City Climate Leadership Awards Conference on September 5, 2013 brought cities together to share – in a workshop environment – the best practices recognized through the Awards.