Press Release: Rio De Janeiro Mayor Paes Elected As New C40 Chair

Today the C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) announced that Rio de Janeiro Mayor Eduardo Paes has been elected to succeed New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg as the new Chair of the C40 Steering Committee. Mayor Bloomberg will stay on as President of the C40 Board.

The Steering Committee is made up of Berlin, Buenos Aires, Hong Kong, Houston, Jakarta, Johannesburg, London, New York City, Seoul, and Tokyo.

As C40 Chair, Mayor Paes will lead the strategic direction of the organisation and build upon Mayor Bloomberg’s legacy of establishing the C40 as the world’s leading climate action organisation. As President of the Board, Mayor Bloomberg will oversee day-to-day operations of the organisation’s professional staff and serve as a key counselor to both the new chair and the organisation.

Download PDF