

## 72 Cities & Local Authorities join the Cities Race to Zero Campaign on Paris Agreement 5-year Anniversary

Race to Zero is a global campaign to build momentum for ambitious climate action and demonstrate global commitment to the Paris Agreement ahead of COP26.

**London, UK (12 December 2020)** - 72 new cities and local authorities around the world are joining the <u>Race to Zero</u>, a global campaign to mobilize cities, businesses, regions, and investors around a green and just recovery ahead of next year's COP26 in Glasgow.

These commitments were announced at the Climate Ambition Summit hosted by the UK, France and the UN, in partnership with Chile and Italy, in the lead up to COP26. They were made possible through the support of the UK100 and DK2020 networks in securing new local commitments.

These pledges are part of the <u>Cities Race to Zero</u>, a partner effort to support cities around the world in accessing the Race to Zero with the best available expertise and tools, led by C40 Cities, the Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy (GCoM), ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI), United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG), CDP, the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF), and the World Resources Institute (WRI). The initiative aims to recruit 1,000 cities around the world to deliver inclusive and resilient climate action for a zero carbon transition and green and just COVID-19 recovery.

Cities and municipalities signing onto the Race to Zero today include:

- Bath and North East Somerset Council, United Kingdom
- Birmingham City Council, United Kingdom
- Bury Metropolitan Borough Council, United Kingdom
- Cambridgeshire County Council, United Kingdom
- Cornwall Council, United Kingdom
- Cotswold District Council, United Kingdom
- Gloucestershire County Council, United Kingdom
- Leeds City Council, United Kingdom
- Leicester City Council, United Kingdom
- Leicestershire County Council, United Kingdom
- Liverpool City Council, United Kingdom
- London Borough of Camden, United Kingdom
- London Borough of Enfield, United Kingdom
- Milton Keynes Council, United Kingdom
- Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council, United Kingdom
- Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council, United Kingdom
- Oxford City Council, United Kingdom

## **PRESS RELEASE**



- Royal Borough of Greenwich, United Kingdom
- Reading Borough Council, United Kingdom
- Solihull Council, United Kingdom
- South Gloucestershire Council, United Kingdom
- West of England Combined Authority, United Kingdom
- Wiltshire Council, United Kingdom
- Edinburgh, United Kingdom
- Ballerup, Denmark
- Brøndby, Denmark
- Esbjerg, Denmark
- Favrskov, Denmark
- Faxe, Denmark
- Fredensborg, Denmark
- Furesø, Denmark
- Fåborg-Midtfyn, Denmark
- Gentofte, Denmark
- Gladsaxe, Denmark
- Guldborgsund, Denmark
- Haderslev, Denmark
- Hedensted, Denmark
- Herlev, Denmark
- Herning, Denmark
- Hjørring, Denmark
- Holbæk, Denmark
- Horsens, Denmark
- Hvidovre, Denmark
- Kerteminde, Denmark
- Kolding, Denmark
- Langeland, Denmark
- Lyngby-Taarbæk, Denmark
- Nordfyn, Denmark
- Nyborg, Denmark
- Odder, Denmark
- Odense, Denmark
- Odsherred, Denmark
- Ringkøbing-Skjern, Denmark
- Rudersdal, Denmark
- Rødovre, Denmark
- Skive, Denmark
- Slagelse, Denmark
- Sorø, Denmark
- Struer, Denmark
- Svendborg, Denmark

## **PRESS RELEASE**



- Syddjurs, Denmark
- Tårnby, Denmark
- Varde, Denmark
- Vejen, Denmark
- Vesthimmerland, Denmark
- Viborg, Denmark
- Vordingborg, Denmark
- Ærø, Denmark
- Aabenraa, Denmark
- Aalborg, Denmark
- Dalian, China
- Brussels Capital Region, Belgium

Cities wishing to join the Cities Race to Zero should contact info@citiesracetozero.org.

For more information, please visit <u>www.citiesracetozero.org</u>.

- ENDS -