Last updated: 14 April 2025



C40 Cities Membership

C40 is a network of mayors of nearly 100 world-leading cities collaborating to confront the climate crisis. Cities in the C40 network earn membership through action; membership operates on performance-based requirements, not fees. Our **Leadership Standards** set the minimum requirements for all member cities and safeguard the integrity of C40 as a network of climate leaders.

Cities in the network are grouped into targeted membership categories – **Megacity**, **Innovator** and **Observer** – enabling C40 to represent over 582 million people from diverse global contexts and around one-fifth of the global economy. Every city in the C40 network is reviewed annually against our Leadership Standards; cities that do not meet the requirements for 12 consecutive months are categorised as Inactive. Learn more about the membership categories:

Megacity	Innovator
Cities that show exceptional climate leadership at the global level, and have an urban population that currently/is expected to exceed 3 million or more people by 2030.	Cities that show exceptional climate leadership at the global level, but do not meet the population/size criteria of a Megacity.
Cities: Accra; Addis Ababa; Ahmedabad; Amman; Athens; Bangkok; Barcelona; Bengaluru; Berlin; Bogotá; Boston; Buenos Aires; Cape Town; Casablanca; Chengdu; Chennai; Chicago; Ciudad de México; Curitiba; Dakar; Dalian; Dar es Salaam; Delhi NCT; Dhaka; Dubai; Durban (eThekwini); Ekurhuleni, Fortaleza; Fuzhou; Guadalajara; Guangzhou; Hangzhou; Hanoi; Hong Kong, China; Ho Chi Minh City; Istanbul; Jakarta; Johannesburg; Karachi; Kuala Lumpur; Lagos; Lima; Lisbon; London; Los Angeles; Madrid; Medellín; Melbourne; Miami; Milan; Montréal; Mumbai; Nairobi; Nanjing; New York City; Paris; Philadelphia; Phoenix; Qingdao; Quezon City; Quito; Rio de	Cities: ; Auckland; Austin; Copenhagen; Freetown; Heidelberg; New Orleans; Oslo; Portland; Rotterdam; Stockholm; Vancouver.

Janeiro; Rome; Salvador; San Francisco; São Paulo; Seattle; Seoul; Shenzhen; Sydney; Tel Aviv-Yafo; Tokyo; Toronto; Tshwane; Warsaw; Washington, DC; Wuhan; Yokohama; Zhenjiang.

Observer

Cities that are eligible for Megacity or Innovator city status based on their climate leadership, but require further approval to participate in those categories due to local regulatory or procedural reasons.

Cities:

Beijing; Shanghai; Singapore.

Inactive

Member cities that do not meet the requirements of the C40 Leadership Standards for 12 consecutive months are categorised as temporarily Inactive. C40 works with Inactive cities to encourage renewed engagement and support participation; where cities persistently fail to comply with the C40 Leadership Standards, their membership is reviewed and revoked as appropriate.

Cities:

Abidjan; Amsterdam; Houston; Santiago.