Qingdao becomes tenth Chinese member of C40 network

The Chinese city of Qingdao has joined the C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group, affirming the commitment of the city to tackling climate change. The move reveals the determination of Chinese mayors to create sustainable and resilient economies, in support of the Chinese government’s commitments to the Paris Agreement on Climate Change.

Qingdao’s entry to the C40 network of cities committed to bold action on climate change, brings the number of C40 cities to 91, representing more than 650 million people worldwide. Ten Chinese cities are currently members of C40: Beijing, Chengdu, Dalian, Guangzhou, Hong Kong, Nanjing, Qingdao, Shanghai, Shenzhen and Wuhan.

Qingdao is a major port city in China. Home to more than nine million people, Qingdao is one of China’s low-carbon pilot cities, leading the transition towards a sustainable economy and adapting to climate change.

“I am very pleased to welcome the great city of Qingdao into the C40 Cities network,” said Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris and chair of C40. “Chinese cities are delivering bold policies and programmes that will go a long way to delivering on the ambitions of the Paris Agreement on Climate Change. I look forward to working with the city and sharing ideas that have benefited the citizens of Qingdao.”​

City of Qingdao/ Photo: Pixabay

Read and download the full press release in English here.

And in Mandarin here.

Share article

More Articles