Mayor Anna König Jerlmyr of Stockholm has been elected to the C40 Cities Steering Committee, the governing body providing strategic direction for the global network of 94 cities committed to taking bold climate action and cleaning the air we breathe.

Mayors of C40 Cities represent over 700 million citizens and one-quarter of the global economy. They are the strongest champions of the Paris Agreement and are committed to delivering on its highest ambition – to keep global temperature rise to below 1.5 °C. 

“It’s a great honour to have been elected to the steering committee. Now more than ever, the big cities of the world need to come together and lead the way towards a climate-friendly future. C40 is a unique network. We want to use our seat on the committee to show the world what we are doing to tackle the escalating climate crisis, and to learn as much as we can from other cities.” – Mayor Anna König Jerlmyr of Stockholm. 

Stockholm joins Accra, Boston, Copenhagen, Dhaka, Dubai, Durban, Hong Kong, London, Los Angeles, Medellin, Milan, Nanjing, Paris, Santiago, Seoul and Tokyo on the Steering Committee. 

Share article

More Articles