C40 Cities Awards

The Cities Awards are granted in five categories and provide global recognition for cities that are demonstrating climate action leadership.


Throughout the world mayors deliver important, impactful, and innovative policies and programmes that reduce carbon pollution and improve resilience. Since 2013, C40 has recognised more than 40 of the world’s boldest projects, highlighting the critical role cities play as a leading force for climate action.

Given the urgency of climate action in the US, this year's Awards will have a special focus on the leadership of US cities on the global stage. Each category of the Cities Awards 2017 will have an international winner and a US winner. Learn more.

Applications are now closed. If you have question relating to the your application please contact Kayley Goff: kgoff@c40.org


The Awards recognise cities that have implemented outstanding projects, programmes, policies and practices to combat climate change and reduce climate risks in the fields of 5 categories:

The Cities4Energy category features excellence in building energy efficiency and clean energy.


The Cities4Mobility category features excellence in sustainable transportation.  


The Cities4ZeroWaste category features excellence in reducing waste.


The Cities4Action category features the most ambitious city-wide action plans. 


The Cities4Tomorrow category features the most ambitious adaptation plans and programmes. 


Explore the 2017 Awards Categories.


Application Window

Applications are open from 25 April and must be submitted online by 19 May 2017.

Who can apply?

City Self-Nomination:

The Mayor’s office or the relevant department within the city’s administration can submit applications for the Cities Awards and Cities100.

Third-Party Nomination:  

Third-party organisations are welcome to nominate projects for the Cities Awards and Cities100, such as, but not limited to:

  • International and national city organisations; 
  • Environment and urban planning-related not-for-profit organisations and charities;
  • Relevant finance and development organisations, international development banks;
  • Relevant environmental and urban planning research bodies, academic institutions and think-thanks.

In order for an application to be submitted by a third-party, C40 and Sustainia require the third-party organisation to provide written evidence that the city they are nominating endorses the application. Either a formal endorsement letter or email from the city official can be added to the application and uploaded at the end of the online application form.

Read the Application Guide

An in-depth manual has been created to assist with the application process. Before you submit your applications online, ensure that you fit the criteria. Submissions can be prepared offline using the editable PDF Application Form.

Submit your applications online

To submit your applications, click on Apply Now and follow the instructions on screen.

Projects submitted in 2016 can be resubmitted with updated data and information, as long as they are still eligible. A project can be entered in more than one category (using separate Application Forms for each category). You can also submit multiple applications in the same category.


The Cities Awards are open to any city around the world, regardless of size, if the two eligibility criteria below are met:

  1. Projects must have begun implementation in 2012 or later;

*NOTE: If the submitted project is a part of a larger, long-term project, then the application must ONLY focus on and discuss results of the stage that has begun since 2012.

  1. Projects need to have all or a substantial amount of project funds secured.

Before you submit your application, ensure that you fit the criteria above and check the Application Guide for further information.  

Applications for the 2017 C40 Cities Awards closed on 19th May 2017. 

Further details relating to the C40 Cities Awards will be announced shortly, but in the meantime if you have any questions please contact, Kayley Goff: kgoff@c40.org




2016 Press Releases can be found below:

Please explore past coverage of the 20152014 and 2013 Awards here, or view the C40 Media page to learn more about our organisation in the media.

For all media enquiries, please contact media@c40.org.

2016 Awards

The 2016 C40 Cities Awards will once again aim to share highly replicable ‘best practices’ across cities and draw attention to outstanding performances that have achieved a high level of environmental success in a challenging context. The Awards Ceremony will take place on 1 December 2016 in Mexico City, to coincide with the C40 Mayors Summit.

2015 Awards

The 2015 C40 Cities Awards took place during the pivotal COP21 meeting in Paris, and were successful in sharing highly replicable ‘best practices’ across cities, while drawing attention to outstanding performances that have achieved a high level of environmental success in a challenging context. The Winners were announced at the Awards Ceremony on 3rd December in Paris, France.

2014 Awards

The second edition of this worldwide awards program rewarded best practices not only from well recognized leaders but also hidden champions, less known innovators and their outstanding performance that has been achieved with small budgets or in difficult environments.

The 2014 Awards resulted in 87 applications from more than 40 cities. Submissions were well spread across the ten Awards categories and came from cities all over the world.

2013 Awards

The inaugural City Climate Leadership Awards Ceremony was held at the Crystal in London on September 4-5, 2013 and featured C40 Chair and New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg, London Mayor Boris Johnson, and CEO of Siemens Infrastructure and Cities Sector Roland Busch.

The City Climate Leadership Awards Conference, also held on September 5, 2013, brought cities together to share best practices recognized through the Awards in a workshop environment.