Mayor of Bogotá Claudia López Hernández and Mayor of Buenos Aires Horacio Rodríguez Larreta have been elected to the C40 Cities Steering Committee, the governing body providing strategic direction for the global network of 96 cities committed to addressing the climate crisis through bold action. 

Mayors of C40 Cities represent over 700 million citizens and one-quarter of the global economy. They are the strongest champions of the Paris Agreement and are committed to delivering on its highest ambition – to keep global temperature rise to below 1.5°C. 

Mayor of Bogotá Claudia López Hernández said: “Climate change is one of Bogota´s five priorities for the next four years. My administration is firmly committed not only to fulfil its own institutional commitments on both the mitigation and the adaptation fronts, but to provide effective incentive structures for both the private sector, civil society and individuals to commit to the changes necessary to overcome the climate crisis. Joining C40 and participating in its Steering Committee is one of the main ways in which we seek to collaborate on the international stage and connect to other actors facing similar challenges.”

Mayor of Buenos Aires Horacio Rodríguez Larreta said: “This is an enormous recognition of the work we do in the City of Buenos Aires to tackle climate change, and it challenges us to call on more and more cities in Latin America to implement climate action plans. Climate change is one of the biggest issues facing the world today, and we cities are opening the way to a more sustainable future.” 

Bogotá and Buenos Aires join fellow C40 Steering Committee cities Accra, Boston, Copenhagen, Dhaka, Dubai, Durban, Hong Kong, London, Los Angeles, Milan, Nanjing, Seattle, Seoul, Stockholm and Tokyo.

Download PDF

Share article

More Articles