A week from today, high level elected officials, business leaders, mayors from C40’s member cities and others will come together for the first major global Summit since the U.S. presidential election

Mexico City, Mexico (23 November 2016) – The C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) announced an updated lineup of speakers headlining this year’s C40 Mayors Summit 2016, opening this year in Mexico City one week from today. From November 30 to December 2, 2016, the biennial C40 Mayors Summit will bring together the largest group of local leaders and climate stakeholders since COP21, and it will be the first such international event since the U.S. presidential election. In addition, winners of the annual 2016 C40 Cities Awards – which provides global recognition for cities that are demonstrating climate action leadership – will be announced alongside the Summit at a ceremony on the evening of December 1.

“We look forward to welcoming C40 city mayors from around the world to Mexico to engage in thoughtful and collaborative efforts toward forging a low carbon and resilient urban future,” said C40 Mayors Summit Host and Mayor of Mexico City Miguel Ángel Mancera. “As mayors, we know that the next four years are a critical window to ensure a climate safe future, and given the results of the US presidential election, U.S. mayors will likely need to shoulder additional responsibility in driving climate action in their country during that period. The Summit will provide a much-needed opportunity for leading thinkers and mayors to collaborate, share ideas and develop a viable path forward for increasingly ambitious climate action before 2020.”

The Summit will bring together more than 40 mayors from the world’s largest and most influential cities and hundreds of urban and sustainability leaders who are committed to taking meaningful action on climate change, including business leaders of Fortune 500 companies; elected officials at all levels of government; prominent NGO leaders; internationally-renowned climate experts; and celebrity activists.

Also at the Summit, current C40 Chair and Rio de Janeiro Mayor Eduardo Paes will officially hand over the role to C40 Chair-Elect and Paris Mayor Anne Hidalgo, who will be the first woman to chair the organization. Here, she will outline her vision and priorities for C40 in her role as chair.

The 6th Biennial C40 Mayors Summit is supported by BYD Company, Citibanamex, ClearChannel, Veolia, and Volvo Group. Additionally, C40’s work is made possible by three strategic funders: Bloomberg Philanthropies, Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF), and Realdania.

Mayors hosting the Summit include:

  • Hidalgo, Anne – C40 Chair-Elect & Mayor of Paris
  • Paes, Eduardo – C40 Chair & Mayor of Rio de Janeiro
  • Mancera, Miguel Ángel – C40 Vice Chair & Mayor of Mexico City

Other city representatives participating in the Summit include:

  • Amman – Mayor Aqel Biltaji
  • Amsterdam – Deputy Mayor Abdeluheb Choho
  • Athens – Professor Eleni Myrivili (City Councillor)
  • Auckland – Councillor Penny Hulse (Councillor)
  • Austin – Mayor Steve Adler
  • Beijing – Yan Zhongqiu,  Vice President of the Beijing People's Political Consultative Conference
  • Belo Horizonte – Mayor Marcio Araujo de Lacerda
  • Berlin – Permanent Secretary for Transport and Environment Christian Gaebler (Councillor)
  • Bogotá – Mayor Enrique Peñalosa
  • Buenos Aires – Mayor Horacio Rodríguez-Larreta
  • Cape Town – Mayor Patricia de Lille
  • Caracas – Mayor Helen Fernandez
  • Chicago – Mayor Rahm Emanuel
  • Copenhagen – Lord Mayor Frank Jensen
  • Curitiba – Mayor Gustavo Fruet
  • Durban – Councillor William Mapena (Speaker of Council)
  • Guadalajara – Mayor Enrique Alfaro
  • Guangzhou – Deputy Secretary General Zhang Jianhua
  • Hong Kong – Honourable Wong
  • Jakarta – Deputy Governor Oswar Muadzin Mungkasa
  • Karachi – Deputy Mayor Dr. Arshad Vohra
  • Kolkata- Mr. Meena Onkar Singh  
  • Lagos – Governor Akinwunmi Ambode
  • London – Deputy Mayor Shirley Rodrigues
  • Los Angeles –  Mayor Eric Garcetti
  • Madrid – Mayor Manuela Carmena
  • Merida – Mauricio Vila Dosal
  • Milan – Mayor Giuseppe Sala
  • Montevideo – Mayor Daniel Martínez
  • Montreal – Mayor Denis Coderre
  • Nanjing – Deputy Mayor Huang Lan
  • New Orleans – Mayor Mitch Landrieu
  • New York – First Deputy Mayor Tony Shorris
  • Oslo – Governing Mayor Raymond Johansen
  • Phoenix – Mayor Greg Stanton
  • Portland – Mayor Charlie Hales
  • Qingdao – Secretary Li Qun
  • Quezon City – Honourable Mayor Herbert Bautista
  • Rotterdam – Mayor Ahmed Aboutaleb
  • São Paulo – Mayor Fernando Haddad
  • Seattle – Mayor Ed Murray
  • Shenzhen – Deputy Mayor Ai Xuefeng
  • Stockholm – Deputy Mayor Katarina Luhr
  • Sydney – Lord Mayor Clover Moore
  • Tshwane – Mayor Solly Msimanga
  • Vancouver- Mayor Gregor Robertson
  • Venice – Deputy Mayor Massimiliano De Martin
  • Warsaw – Mariusz Frankowski (Councillor)
  • Washington DC- Mayor Muriel Bowser
  • Wuhan – Deputy Mayor Dong Guangli

Speakers headlining the 2016 Summit include:

  • Bloomberg, Michael R. – C40 President of the Board, U.N. Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for Cities and Climate Change and 108th Mayor of New York City
  • Chen, Don – Director, Equitable Development, Ford Foundation
  • Dasewicz, Agnes – Director, Office of Private Capital and Microenterprise (PCM) Bureau for Economic Growth, Education and Environment, USAID
  • de Jesús Gutiérrez G., Arch. Felipe – CDMX Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
  • Doctoroff, Dan – CEO, Sidewalk Labs
  • Espinosa, Patricia – Secretary General, UNFCCC
  • Esty, Dan – Professor of Environmental Law and Policy, Yale Law School
  • Fam, Hany – President, Mastercard Enterprise Partnerships
  • Figueres, Christiana – Former Secretary General, UNFCCC
  • Gomez-Mont, Gabriella – Founder and Director, Laboratorio Para la Ciudad
  • Gutierrez, Martha – Director of Division, Governance, Crisis Management, Construction, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit – GIZ
  • Hampton, Kate – CEO, Children's Investment Fund Foundation, CIFF
  • Hamza, Dan – Goodachre- Director of Buildings and Industry, Energy Efficiency, Climateworks
  • Hauc, Vanessa – Anchor and Reporter, Telemundo
  • Hedegaard, Connie – Former European Commissioner for Climate Action
  • Hodkinson, Greg – Chairman, ARUP
  • Ishii, Naoko – CEO & Chairperson, Global Environment Facility
  • Kamal-Chaoui, Lamia – Senior Advisor to the Secretary General, OECD
  • Li, Stella – Senior Vice President of BYD Co., Ltd. and President of BYD Motors Inc.
  • Lovins, Amory – Chairman/Chief Scientist, Rocky Mountain Institute
  • Lund, Niels – Vice President (Changing Diabetes), Novo Nordisk
  • Martinez, Xiuhtezcatl – Climate Change Activist, Hip-Hop Artist and Youth Director, Earth Guardians
  • Mavropoulos, Antonis – President, The International Solid Waste Association (ISWA)
  • McHale, Brandee – President, Citi Foundation
  • Molin Valdes, Helena – Head of the Secretariat, Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) UNEP
  • Nygård, Jesper – CEO, Realdania
  • Pershing, Dr. Jonathan – Special Envoy for Climate Change, U.S. Department of State, Office of the Special Envoy for Climate Change
  • Poticha, Shelly – Director, Urban Solutions, NRDC
  • Sadik Khan, Janette – Former Commissioner of the NYC Department of Transportation, Bloomberg Associates
  • Steer, Andrew – President and CEO, World Resources Institute
  • Topping, Nigel – CEO, We Mean Business
  • Watts, Mark – Executive Director, C40 Cities
  • Williams, Antha – Environment Program Lead, Bloomberg Philanthropies

For the most up-to-date list of speakers and details about the programme, please refer to the C40 Mayors Summit website: https://mayorssummit2016.c40.org/.

Follow C40 Mayors Summit announcements on social media with #Cities4Climate and follow the C40 Cities Awards with #C40Awards.

Share article

More Articles